The Problem with Job Boards

First of all I just want to say, “WOW!” Thanks for the great response everyone! I can’t even keep up with the traffic (special shout out to the visitor from Taiwan!).

I’m hoping that my blog really struck a chord with the people out there in my situation. Although, I have to say my excitement is mixed with sadness because there are so many people out there who can relate to this.

I want to address a problem I’ve been having with the job search. The internet is a great resource but I find the majority of job search websites only have openings posted for people with 3-5 years of experience.

Even when I entered on collegegrad.com that I had “less than one year of experience” I was shown an Advertising & Marketing Manager position that asked for 5 years of experience.  Am I the only one having a problem finding relevant job postings?

Please let me know if any of you have found a good resource for unemployed, recent college grads!

9 responses to “The Problem with Job Boards

  • sarammck

    I wish that I had found a good resource, but sadly I haven’t – I have been having the same issue as you. I click on job search sites to only show entry level positions, but it always comes back with jobs that need at least 3 years, I don’t get it at all!

  • Mary

    I am helping my bf lookfor jobs too since he will be finishing college this year. It’s sad to see what’s available… Or unavailable for students who deticated years of their lives to education after graduation. Even internecine are hard to come by since so many require units through school.

  • Cassandra

    I just graduated with a degree in marketing and I’m constantly running into that same situation too- that you need X amount of experience when you have little to none. What I have been doing is looking on niche websites and not just the job boards. Look at the American Marketing Association or American Advertising Federation websites and look at their local cities chapter websites. Those work wonders. My father told me to apply for those jobs where you might not have all the experience. If you have nothing to loose, right? Odds are you might not be right for the company, but they might like you enough to make a position for you.
    Good luck on the job search! 🙂

    • Cassandra

      Oops, sorry I meant you might not be a right fit for the position but they might like you enough to make a position for you.

  • SarahR

    Hey one and all,

    I actually heard to apply for those 3-5 year jobs anyway. Bulk up your resume with internships ect. Those lines aren’t as cut and dry as people tend to think they are. At this point, what do we have to lose?

  • Jenna

    Yup, that drives me crazy too – a post will sometimes even say “Entry Level” but ask for at least two years of experience. If that’s what Entry Level means these days, I’m in trouble. But I generally apply to jobs anyway as long as I meet most of the other requirements.

    You should try Indeed.com – it collects jobs posted all over the web and combines them in one search engine. It’s a general job site, but the search filters are pretty much the best I’ve seen, and there are always new posts whenever you look. (I swear this comment isn’t advertising spam, by the way!)

  • Jackie

    I have the same problem! It is so frustrating! If I get any results it’s usually for handing out pamphlets or something like that.

Leave a Reply

