Nick’s Story

You might have seen my post asking for all of you to submit your stories of unemployment woes. Well, my friend Nick Vricella wanted to share his beautifully written story with all of you!

“Ever since I was in my early teens, I have tried to keep up with the news. That being said, I was well-aware of the challenges I would face after graduation. I did the typical college thing, though… did an internship at an ad agency the summer going into senior year, found a new internship the summer going into “super-senior” year, and now that I have finally graduated, I’m back for my second tour of underpaid duty as a twenty-three-year-old intern. In all fairness, I count my lucky stars that it is a paid internship, as opposed to many that friends and acquaintances have had.

On May 14th, 2011, I received my bachelor’s degree in Marketing, with Advertising as my minor. My goal had been to work at an advertising agency, but after too many rejected applications, I realized that I would need to expand my horizons. I applied for numerous sales and marketing positions, and heard one of two things: (1) “We aren’t looking to hire right now,” or (2) “We’re looking for someone with more experience.” Disappointment aside, I can understand that companies are looking for the most bang for their buck. Hiring a kid such as myself would cost the same as hiring someone with more experience.

By late April/early May, things were looking more and more grim. I decided at this point, going back to my last internship where I had a great experience and learned a lot the previous summer was looking like my best option. Today more than ever, I feel as though internships are a person’s best foot in the door. Even though I don’t have a lot of experience in the marketing world as a twenty-three-year-old, I have more experience with the company than a forty-year-old first-time applicant. So these days, I’m working as a marketing intern, bartending on the weekends, and basically playing the waiting game until a position opens up.

When my father was my age, he was entering his second year as a salesman at a surgical supply company, without so much as an associate’s degree. It seems that as time goes by, the price of college tuition increases while the value of the degree goes down. It’s kind of depressing, but it really makes me shudder to think of what the next generation will have to pay for a college degree that is the equivalent of a 2001 high school diploma. In the mean time, come visit Famous Dave’s of Annapolis this weekend so you can drown your financial and employment-related sorrows with one of my infamous Strong Island Iced Teas!”

3 responses to “Nick’s Story

  • positiveredhed

    Some don’t get hired because of a lack of experience, I don’t get hired because I have too much! Who the heck is getting hired??

  • sarammck

    This story sounds all too familiar, but it’s comforting, in a way, to know that it’s everyone and not just me! It is very scary though to think about what our kids futures will hold the way things are going now, yikes.

  • mountingandcounting

    Good luck searching, I recommend self-employment! Best of both worlds…sleeping in and such still fly, but checks come in.

    You’re a cute girl and I’d suggest registering with companies that do promotions/marketing campaigns, like attack Marketing and Encore Nationwide, if you land liquor promotions it’s 25+ per hour, sometimes 40

Leave a Reply

