What do Furbies and LinkedIn have in Common?

So it seems to me that LinkedIn gets mixed reviews from my 20-something peers. We all are told to make these profiles by our professors, yet we rarely hear any success stories from the business-focused social network. Sometimes I think one of my friends tweeted it best, “LinkedIn profiles are like Furbies. Society pressures you into getting one, you never use it, and it annoys you everyday.”

However, the site announced Monday that they are making it easier for users to actually apply for a job, launching their new “Apply with LinkedIn” button. Apparently, it is supposed to be as simple as clicking a Twitter button or “Like” on Facebook for us to apply for jobs now.

According to LinkedIn executives, this button is supposed to update the job search into the realm of new media.

What do you guys think? Is the paper resume dead?

Check out my LinkedIn profile and see if it is ready to simply click a button and apply for a job! Send me a link to your profile and I’ll give you feedback as well!
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/rebekah-meinecke/13/942/939

12 responses to “What do Furbies and LinkedIn have in Common?

  • Katy

    I’m a rising senior in college right now, and I actually JUST started using LinkedIn. I’ve never had any professor at my university suggest using it. Granted, my school (University of Pittsburgh) has their own LinkedIn equivalent… but no one uses that either 🙂

    I think that online profiles will slowwwwwwly start to phase out paper resumes, but that when it comes down to it, it’s MUCH easier to make a good (or bad!) impression when you’re physically handing your resume to a potential employer, as opposed to doing it online.

  • Kelly Lawson

    Rebekah,

    I work as a head hunter and at my firm we only use Linked In to recruit and place candidates. All of our clients are fortune 500 and prefer passive candidates who are happy where they are but if the right position just happened to be in their email one day they might consider a move. When I have found candidates from job boards they are typically interviewing at multiple companies which might make them less likely to accept a position because they will have other offers. Also, a lot of the time there is a reason they are unemployed. Plus, I get some really terrible resumes from job boards. I could post a position and get 500 resumes in my inbox and not one person be qualified. It will take me all day to sort through the emails and read resumes for people who do not have the skills I need. When I use linked in it is a more effective use of my time because I can message people who have the skill set I am looking for instead of having to sort through hundreds of unqualified resumes. LinkedIn has multiple features for people in the staffing and recruiting industry that allow you to access profiles for people who are not 1, 2nd or 3rd connections and I can search keywords for certain zip codes to find people with the skills I am looking for in a certain area. Granit all of the roles I recruit for are management consulting, procurement, and supply chain focused so it’s not a fresh college grad I need however I have multiple people interviewing this week who I found on LinkedIn with 3-4 years of experience. Even if you have no work experience it is worth making a profile and starting to build your network so more recruiters can find you for future roles. If you are a fresh college grad and are interviewing for a position employers will always search your name on Google and if your linked in profile comes up with a professional picture and some recommendations it is only going to help you get the job you are interviewing for. At the end of the day, Linked in can never hurt your chances of securing your first job or getting job descriptions from recruiters after you have a few years under your belt.

  • Remy

    I actually had a LinkedIn profile for about (no lie.) a day before it confused the snot out of me.

    I do however like the new idea where you could use it to apply for jobs now. However it is kind of sucky that paper resumes could effectively be dead (unless you don’t have a computer, as some people don’t!)

    Maybe I’ll look into it when I’m hunting again. 🙂

  • Kyle

    I actually love LinkedIn – it’s a great way to stay in touch with colleagues, especially when you switch jobs. It’s definitely a good professional networking tool. I was contacted through Google actually and had an interview because of LinkedIn but unfortunately, I didn’t make it past the first round (yet!).

    Your profile looks good to me – you have good work experience and a lot of details about your qualifications. I think the one thing that would make it even better is if you can ask some connections to write recommendations for you. I find that really makes your profile stand out.

    Check out mine and let me know what you think: http://www.linkedin.com/in/kyledorman

  • Hannah J. Holmes

    I don’t know if the paper resume is dead, but I always put a lot more thought into my online presence than I do my word document resumes that I never quite seem to print or even finish writing.

    I plan to make a professional site that reads very much like a resume and link it to my personal site. As for LinkedIn, I’ve always thought it seemed a little bit useless but maybe that is changing!

  • sarammck

    I don’t really like LinkedIn, I always forget about it too until they send me an email haha. My college advisor told me that I should make one, so I did. I guess I don’t really see the point of it. All of my connections are people I knew from college, so no one that’s probably going to help me get a job. I’ve searched for jobs on there before, but some of them you have to apply for directly through LinkedIn, which I didn’t like because you have to upload your resume (even though the whole thing basically is your resume) and it has a file size limit. I made my resume in Illustrator, to give it a little extra creative flare, and it’s too big to attach on there. Besides none of your personal creativity really gets to come out in a LinkedIn profile.

  • Tori

    I hate LinkedIn and totally agree with your friend. I haven’t logged into that website in like two years, but they send me updates every day. Why, LinkedIn? Have you not noticed that I don’t care??

  • daynali

    I for one steer clear of LinkedIn – there’s something about it that i’m just not comfortable with. That being said, if they make it so that employers are centralized, i’d be happy to use it the next time i’m looking for a job.

    PS. I’m doing an interview series on some fellow blogger’s lives at twenty-one leading up to my big 22nd birthday and was wondering if you’d be interested in participating. What do you think? If you’re interested, you can drop me an e-mail at daynali.info@gmail.com and i’ll send you more details.

    Hope you’re well!

  • Lotus Flower

    I joined linkedin but haven’t used it much. I don’t even think I’ve logged in since I made my profile. I like the idea of connecting with professionals and networking for better jobs, but I guess it would have to grow on me.

  • Katie

    I’m curious: have you checked out BeKnown yet? It’s a new app for Facebook, and it is kind of a “LinkedIn for Facebook,” if you will. Monster just launched it a few weeks ago (I’m one of the community managers) – I’m excited to see where it goes! I know when it comes to LinkedIn, I don’t go over and check it every day, so having an app within Facebook (which I am on multiple times a day) makes it really easy to do some professional networking! Plus, it won’t share your personal information with the potential employers…they are kept separate. Always important…

Leave a Reply

