Vacation Tips for the Unemployed

I am going on vacation. Although, when I titled this post I felt that  “vacation for the unemployed” was sort of an oxymoron. If you’re unemployed, what are you taking a vacation from? Not from working, that’s for sure.

You actually need a vacation from the depression of not working and because you feel bad that you’re still living for free at a friend’s house. Why not give your friend a vacation from you?

So I am headed to FL tomorrow and thought I would share my tips for taking a vacation as an unemployed person. Unemployed people have to do extensive planning because while we obviously have the luxury of time we do not have the luxury of money.

Tip #1: Choose a vacation destination where you have family and/or friends that you can crash with for free. Preferably choose a place with both and then you can take a longer vacation because you can stay with family 1/2 of the time and friends the other 1/2 of the time. If you don’t have friends in a nice vacation area then start making some. It’s not hard these days with the internet and you have plenty of free time to devote to building an online friendship.

Tip #2: Transportation can be tricky if you don’t have a car. If you do have a car, gas can be expensive. This leaves you a few options; walking or taking a bus. I’m assuming you’re going to go with the latter so I’ll say that I’ve found buses that are very reasonably priced and although it may take you 8 hrs to make a 4.5 hr trip (this happened to me last weekend) you are still better off than walking the whole way.

Tip #3: Since you can’t afford any new “vacation clothes” I would suggest taking a vacation in an opposite climate from the one in which you’re currently living. For instance, D.C. is starting to get chilly so when I go to FL I’ll get to wear really summery clothes that feel new because it’s been awhile since I’ve worn them. Also, if you’re vacation by yourself no one at your destination will know that you have worn all the clothes in your wardrobe multiple times! If you’re wardrobe is pretty slim because of low funds just tell people at your destination that you “packed light.”

Tip #4: Be sure to be a polite wonderful guest wherever you’re staying. While your welcome may be wearing down at your “home” (aka friend’s house you’re indefinitely crashing at) you are a visitor to the people on you’re vacation. So, suck up to your vacation friends and maybe you will have another place to go after you have been booted out of your “home.”

There you go! Those are my words of wisdom. I hope all of you wonderful unemployed people out there take advantage of your unemployed situation and take a vacation. Trust me, you need it!

2 responses to “Vacation Tips for the Unemployed

Leave a Reply

